Trouble Finding the Right Sunscreen with Acne?

I am back from vacation and I have a list of things to report.

First off, I think I may have found the ultimate sunscreen for those with cystic acne!

…but I have been living in a more humid climate for too long. I didn’t account for the dry, desert heat as I should have, and I am still trying to normalize my skin :/

Anyways, I purchased Live Live Sunscreen with MSM because EVERY other sunscreen I have used has promised to be non-comedogenic, and has turned out not to be.

Positives

  • Comes with MSM (sulfur)- Works well in the treatment of cystic acne
  • Feels moist when applying
  • A little goes a long way
  • Zinc oxide!
  • All natural
  • Didn’t break out during the trip
  • Never burned
  • Has a slight orange scent
  • Contains other nourishing and repairing ingredients such as: grapeseed extract, vitamin E, sweet almond oil, tea tree oil, aloe extract, etc.

Negatives

  • Isn’t tinted (which I would like to cover scars)
  • A higher priced sunscreen

*The only problem is I can’t isolate the intense drying effect I had. I also use other products that contain sulfur, was subjected to the dry Vegas heat, was surrounded by smoke, and had a lack of sleep. With all of these elements stacked against me, it is easy to think the change in my skin was the result of a combination of reasons.

Things about skin I learned for my next Vegas trip:

  • Even if you grew up in dry heat, don’t forget your skin can change quickly in the climate
  • I now understand why people pay those high Vegas spa prices
  • Bring your heavy duty moisturizers
  • Pay close attention to your eyes and lips

Other things I would recommend:

  • Sunscreen always- Even if it is overcast; even for a short time
  • I used a zinc oxide sunscreen spray with aloe for my body- Quick, easy, and has a moisturizing effect
  • Bring a hat and shades
  • Re-apply sunscreen, and be sure to pay close attention to tattoos, scars, and so on
  • Follow up with nourishing products- Cocoa butter, aloe, etc.
  • Remember to take off your silver jewelry. The sulfur will tarnish it

Overall, if you have similar issues with sunscreen, I would try it. Let me know what you think.

– Erica O.

Leave a Reply

