Charcoal- New Found Product

I recently found a product I love (there are many, but this one surprised me). I have had a sample of Garnier Clean Blackhead Eliminating Scrub siting around and I finally gave it a shot.

Needless, to say I was impressed. It felt so good on my face that I didn’t want to stop cleansing!

I have done a little research on the premise of this charcoal trend, and in theory it seems as though it could potentially have benefits (the charcoal absorbs toxins), but until I tried it I wasn’t that excited.

So when you think about charcoal, water filtration is probably the first thing that comes to mind. It comes to you in your Brita filters; you can find it on a casual episode of Naked & Afraid…Anyways, the concept seems to extend to face care products.

If we rewind and consider scrubs as a whole, there are varying types on the market. For example, walnut-shell based scrubs are said to be too abrasive. Personally, I use a microdermabrasion scrub in my arsenal of products that uses a crystal blend, and it feels easier on the skin. This alternative of Garnier’s is classified as a light gel cleanser with soft microbeads, and feels relatively mild.

It is important to note this is a 2% salicylic acid product, meaning it will only combat certain types of acne and might be too much for someone with sensitive skin, or might be too little for someone with greater issues (the latter would be me). Overall, 2% is standard for most of the typical products one thinks of off the top of his/her head.

As far as clearing my acne, no I use other products for that. However, in terms of blackheads, I thought it did wonders. While, a person can never reduce the size of their pores, I thought their appearance was minimized. And to boot, my skin felt open and great.

As with any product, one will need to decide for themselves. I have become more intrigued by charcoal’s place in skincare though…I recently bought some charcoal-based nose strips that I am anxious to try.

– Erica O.

Leave a Reply

